James Herriot Books In Order

James Herriot Books in Order of Publication

James Herriot Books In OrderThe story of James Herriot something different. He was a British veterinary surgeon and he used to tell stories of his animals and their owners which turned him to be a writer. Here in this article, we will talk about James Herriot and in addition to that, we will provide you with a list of all James Herriot books in order.

James Herriot was born in Sunderland in addition to writing he was interested in learning piano. He completed his studies in your Yorker primary school and hill head High School where he used to be interested in playing football at his early age. 

He was at the age of 23 when he started working as a veterinary surgeon. After that, he received his qualification in veterinary from Glasgow Veterinary College in the year 1939.

While working as a surgeon used to read and write stories and also used to narrate stories to his friends and family which then finally advise him to peruse writing as a career.

But for the first time when he wrote a book he met a rejection revolved around football then he turned his writing skills to animals which started giving him a little bit of experience and success. 

The first novel which was written by him as if only they could talk which became very successful and turned his career. He became very successful and he started getting conditions for professional writing. But it was not very easy it was in the year 1991 when he was diagnosed form cancer but after four years of this, his wife died. 

James Herriot Books in Order

The life of James heriot is something to learn from. He started working as a writer very late and in addition to this he also used to suffer from his ill health and his wife was also dead but still, he becomes of the successful writer and with his books he spread the love for animals which he had in his heart.

The Complete James Herriot Boxed Set
The Complete James Herriot Boxed Set

James Herriot Career

  • James Herriot is a kind of standalone novel writer who has written about 24 standalone James Herriot books in order
  • He was also written a book that contains story short story collection which is known as a short and funny story
  • The best picture books there are about ten James Herriot books in order. 

After years of writing and experience James Herriot started writing novels which were very successful and were famous around the world. One of his books was it turned into a movie titled as “All creature Great and small in the year 1975. 

If only they could talk 

If only they could talk was is one of the most famous book. In which he has and affected all the stories of in veterinary life. And in addition to this he has also shown that these animals could have expressed their feeling if only they could talk.

It shouldn’t happen to a vet

This book is also one of the famous book written by him in which it has continued his unusual life as a veterinary surgeon. 

James Herriot Non-Fiction Books in Order of Publication

Book TitlePublication YearCheck on Amazon
If Only They Could Talk-1970Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
It Shouldn’t Happen to a Vet-1972Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Creatures Great and Small-1972Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Let Sleeping Vets Lie-1973Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Things Bright and Beautiful-1974Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vet in Harness-1974Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vets Might Fly-1976Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Things Wise and Wonderful-1977Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vet in a Spin-1977Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Yorkshire-1979Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lord God Made Them All-1981Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Best of James Herriot-1982Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Animal Stories: Tame and Wild-1985Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Dog Stories-1986Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Every Living Thing-1992Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot Story Book-1992Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Treasury for Children-1992Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Cat Stories-1994Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Seven Yorkshire Tales-1995Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Animal Stories-1997Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Greatest Cat Stories-1997Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Yorkshire Stories-1997Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Herriot’s Yorkshire Revisited-1999Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

James Herriot Picture Books in Order in Publication

Book TitlePublication YearCheck at Amazon
Moses the Kitten-1984Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Only One Woof-1985Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Christmas Day Kitten-1986Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bonny’s Big Day-1987Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blossom Comes Home-1988Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Market Square Dog-1989Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Oscar, Cat-About-Town-1990Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Smudge, The Little Lost Lamb-1991Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Smudge’s Day Out-1991Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Conclusion – James Herriot Books

Here in this article, I have provided a complete guide about James Herriot’s life and career as a writer. In addition to that, I have also listed all the James Herriot books in order which you can go through if you are interested in reading his books. 

James Heriot was an amazing writer who started writing very late but became one of the popular writers. A special thing about James heriot is that he used to tell stories about those who could not talk all of the stories based upon the life of animals and their owner. You should definitely try these books animals.

FAQ on James Herriot Books

  1. Are the James Herriot books true?

    According to James Herriot he has written his books on his personal experience.

  2. What is James Herriot’s real name?

    James Herriot real name is James Alfred Wight.

  3. What is the first James Herriot book?

    All Creatures Great and Small is the first book written by him.

You must need to check these –

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...