Scott Lynch Books in Order | Gentleman Bastard Series

Scott Lynch Books In Order

Scott Lynch is an American author who was born on April 2, 1978, in Saint Paul, Minnesota, U.S. He has two brothers who are younger than him. He spent his childhood in the St. Paul area and moved to Eastern Wisconsin in the year 2004. Lynch attended Woodbury High School and Miskatonic University for his graduation. So here, we will let you go through the amazing collections of Scott Lynch Books In Order along with the author’s journey of popularity.

Scott Lynch – A Quick Biography

To sustain himself, he had taken up many odd jobs, such as being a dishwasher, busboy, web designer, waiter, office manager, and prep cook. He was also trained and certified as a firefighter at Anoka Technical College in Minnesota in 2005 and was a paid-on-call firefighter for New Richmond, Wisconsin, from 2005-2016. He was a freelance writer before becoming a full-time writer. His interest lies in history, literature, films, beige box-era Mac stuff, gaming, and game designing.

His debut novel, The Lies of Locke Lamora, was nominated for the World Fantasy Award, which became the finalist in the year 2007. He mainly writes fantasy novels and has gained popularity for his amazing work in the fantasy genre.

Scott Lynch Books in Order of Publication

Let’s have a look at the Scott Lynch books in their publication order.

Publication Order of Gentleman Bastard Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The Lies of Locke Lamora(2006)Buy Now
Red Seas Under Red Skies(2007)Buy Now
The Republic of Thieves(2013)Buy Now
The Thorn of Emberlain(2021)Buy Now

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
In the Stacks(2010)Buy Now
The Effigy Engine(2018)Buy Now
A Year and a Day in Old Theradane(2019)Buy Now

Publication Order of Anthologies

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
Rogues(2014)Buy Now
The Long List Anthology(2015)Buy Now
Ex Libris: Stories of Librarians, Libraries, and Lore(2017)Buy Now
The Book of Swords(2017)Buy Now
The Book Of Swords: Part 2(2018)Buy Now
The Book of Magic(2018)Buy Now

Gentleman Bastard Series

The first novel of the series was published in the year 2006 under the Gollancz imprint in the United Kingdom and under the Bantam imprint in the United States, which was purchased by Orion Books in 2004. The plot of the series revolves around the Therin Throne Empire and its successor states. 

A young thief and con artist Locke Lamora’s life has been showcased for over 15 to 20 years. The world’s technology is similar to the 16th or 17th century but with crucial differences. An enormous gap between rich and poor is shown, though women are shown to be progressive and can have jobs and flourishing careers. Lynch describes each of his novels of the series in which the same characters get into trouble with the changing backdrop. 

The series contains seven novels of Scott Lynch Books in Order. And here are a glimpse of the top 4 volumes from the novel-Gentleman Bastard.

1] The Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Lamora is the first novel of the series, Gentleman Bastard Sequence. The city of Camorr is robbed by a group of elite conmen, calling themselves ‘Gentleman Bastards.’ Locke Lamora is a headstrong orphan who is the leader of the Gentleman Bastard. He successfully fools the leaders from the underworld. The whole plot is based on deceits, deception, disguise, gruesome violence, and a struggle to lift from poverty.

After the release of the book in 2006, Warner Bros. bought the film rights to adapt it into a movie. Kevin and Dan Hageman were to write the screenplay, and Michael De Luca and Julie Yorn were to produce the film, but the film rights lapsed in April 2010.

2] Red Seas Under Red Skies

The second novel of Scott Lynch Books In Order in the Gentleman Bastard series is Red Seas Under Red Skies. It is set after two years of Locke Lamora and Jean Tannen fleeing from Camorr. They have now created new identities in the island city of Tal Verrar. They have disguised themselves as professional gamblers at Sinspire. 

Requin, the man who runs the casino, Sinspire, kills any person whom he finds cheating in the casino. Despite knowing this, Locke and Jean constantly cheat in the game through some loopholes. The novel ends with Locke apparently dying soon, which unfolds in the next volume of the series.

3] The Republic of Thieves

The third novel, The Republic of Thieves of the series was released in 2013. It continues with the adventures of Locke, Jean, and Sabetha, the love interest of Locke. The scene where Locke was dying in the previous part is continued with Jean at his side, which brings the doctor to save him. 

Sabetha is drowned in the water, which shatters Locke that he will not be able to see her again. This novel took Lynch the longest time to write as he was battling depression due to his divorce.

4] Queen of the Iron Sands

The next novel Queen of the Iron Sands in the list of Scott Lynch Books In Order was published in the year 2009. It is a planetary romance that involves adventures and actions on alien planets. The style of writing is influenced by Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Barsoom novels. It is a free online serial novel. To battle depression and amuse the people, he wrote the novel. 

The story is about Violet DeVere and her fellow WASPs who help in destroying the group that is a threat to the planet Earth. Violet gets kidnapped in a place that is a hundred million miles of space far from Earth and rises alone to defy the tyrannic powers.

Achievements of Scott Lynch

Lynch’s books have been nominated and awarded in various awards categories. He won British Fantasy Awards in 2008 by the British Fantasy Society. He was nominated by the World Fantasy Convention and World Fantasy Awards for his work, The Lies of Locke Lamora. It was also nominated for the Locus award for First novel and Fantasy novel in the year 2007. His novel, The Republic of Thieves, was nominated in the category of Locus Award and Fantasy Novel in 2014 by Locus.

Wrap Up – Scott Lynch

Scott Lynch holds a high position in fantasy writing. His works are widely read and enjoyed. He lives with Elizabeth Bear, his second wife, in Massachusetts. Scott Lynch Books in Order helps the reader to identify the sequence in which they need to read Lynch’s books.

Top FAQ on Scott Lynch

  1. What is the email id of Scott Lynch?

    One can contact Scott Lynch at this email [email protected]

  2. How amny books are there in Gentleman Bastard series?

    There are a total of 4 book in the Scott Lynch’s “Gentleman Bastard” series.

  3. Which is the latest book by Scott Lynch?

    “The Thorn of Emberlain” from the “Gentleman Bastard” series is the latest book by Scott Lynch which was published in 2021.

Have you read Scott Lynch books and novels? Please share your thoughts below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...