Agents of Rome Series in Order

Agents of Rome Series in Order by Nick Brown

Agents of Rome Series in Order – Author Nick Brown wrote the “Agents of Rome Book Series” series of historical novels. The publication of the series began in 2011, when “The Siege” was released.

The series features an intelligence officer named Cassius Curbelo, who has completed his officer training for the first time. He is aided by Simo, his loyal servant, and Idvara, a former Gladiator bodyguard on various missions that he goes on.

The first book in the series is set in 270 AD. and it goes forward in time, although it doesn’t take long for the first four books.

Nick wanted Cassius to be unusual for a hero. He came to know that, during his investigation, into the Roman “Secret Service”, all he knew was that he was a reluctant hero rather than a perfect promise.

“The Seige” is the first novel in the “Agent of Rome” series, released in 2011. The year 270 AD it is. Now the weakened kingdom faces a desperate threat: Queen Zenobia of Pulmaira turns an army trained by the Romans against each of their former masters and destroys the invincible armies.

Agents of Rome Book Series in Publication Order

Book NamePublication YearPrice & Purchase
The Siege-2011Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Imperial Banner-2012Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Far Shore-2013Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Black Stone-2014Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Emperor’s Silver-2015Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Earthly Gods-2016Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Flames of Cyzicus-2015Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Egypt, Arabia and Palestine have fallen and now the capital of Syria, Antioch, is exposed.

Cassius Corbulo is assigned a field assignment to round up some of the wounded legionnaires, but some urgent new orders suggest they replace first. He is the only Roman officer classified for the Palimarian advance.

He has to command the Aluran fortress, the last fortress the Romans take over, and hold it against the enemy until reinforcements can help.

Cassius sees the things in Aluran that would kill a veteran veteran, let alone a nineteen-year-old boy who has no experience in warfare. Only a scattering of divided and democratic legionaries remains and some are supported by sinister Syrian auxiliaries as well as drunken Praetorian guards.

With Polymaren arriving in just a few days, Cassius must find a way to find the courage, discipline, and skill to save Alauran, organize the garrison, and secure Rome’s eastern border.

Cassius jumps on the course, initiates fear and uncertainty about his career options, and gains more experience. The author gets right into the story and the action without having to bother with setting the scene. The climactic and siege battles were very exciting and the pace of the entire novel is very remarkable.

“The Imperial Banner” is the second novel in the “Agent of Rome” series, released in 2012. The year 272 AD. it is. The Roman Emperor Aurelian defeats Queen Xenobia and the platoon’s rebellion fails, but now there are few black forces threatening a fragile peace.

FAQ on Agents of Rome Series

  1. Who is the author of “Agents of Rome Series”?

    Agent of Rome Series is authored by Nick Brown.

  2. When the publication of “Agent of Rome Series” started?

    The publication of the series began in 2011, when “The Siege” was released.

  3. Nick Brown Bio

    Nick was born in Norwich in 1974. A keen reader from a young age, he graduated from Enid Blyton to Douglas Hill and JRR Tolkien, and from there to Ian Fleming, Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton. After three years studying in Brighton, he travelled to Nepal where he worked at an orphanage and trekked to Mount Everest. After qualifying as a history teacher in 2000, he worked for five years in England before taking up a post at an international school in Warsaw.

    Nick had completed a few screenplays and a futuristic thriller before being inspired to try historical fiction after reading C.J. Sansom’s Dissolution: “Researching the Roman army and life in the third century was a fascinating but time-consuming project and the book went through many drafts before arriving at its final form. I had always intended Cassius to be a somewhat atypical protagonist and when I came across the research about the Roman ‘secret service’, I knew I’d found an ideal vocation for my reluctant hero.”

Agent of Rome: Book One: The Siege

Rome has ruled Syria for over three centuries. But now the weakened empire faces a desperate threat: Queen Zenobia of Palmyra has turned her Roman-trained army against her former masters and the once invincible legions have been crushed. Arabia, Palestine and Egypt have fallen and now Antioch, Syria’s capital, stands exposed.

Cassius Corbulo is a young intelligence agent fresh from officer training. He has been assigned the menial task of rounding up wounded legionaries but then urgent new orders arrive. He is the only ranking Roman officer left in the line of the Palmyran advance.

He must take command of the fort of Alauran, the last stronghold still in Roman hands, and hold it against the enemy until reinforcements arrive.

Agents of Rome - The Siege
Agents of Rome – The Siege

What Cassius finds at Alauran would daunt the most seasoned veteran, let alone a nineteen-year-old with no experience of war.

A mere scattering of divided and demoralized legionaries remain, backed up by some fractious Syrian auxiliaries and a drunken Praetorian Guardsman. With the Palmyrans just days away, Cassius must somehow find the discipline, resourcefulness, and courage to organize the garrison, save Alauran, and secure Rome’s eastern frontier.

Also Read –

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...