The Albert Campion Series in Order

The Albert Campion Series in Order

The Albert Campion series is a series of crime fiction books, written by a renowned British novelist named Margery Allingham. The series consists of 21 books in total, published between 1929 and 1971. Allingham presents the central character of the series as a suicide detective named Albert Campion.

As with the novels in this crime fiction series, the character also appears in some short stories, also written by author Allingham. Author Allingham is believed to have created the character of Albert Campion by author Dorothy L.

As a parody of the character of Lord Peter Vimsey created by Sayers. But, he eventually went on to develop a unique Albert Campion personality.

Some of his characteristics are like those of Lord Wimsey. They are both seen as British gentlemen in their respective series of novels.

However, Albert Campion is depicted as a slim, blond man who wears glasses. He is sociable, malleable, and incompetent, but he is also considered a man of action and authority.

The author Allingam began writing the series in 1929 and that same year he published his first book, The Crime at Black Dudley. The book was also published in many foreign countries under the title The Black Dudley Murder. The series spanned a total of 21 books, two of which were written as author Allingam’s husband. It finally ended in the year 1971.

Throughout the series, the writer Allingham collaborated with several other novelists to write specific parts of the series. One of them is her husband, writer Youngman Carter, who helped author Ellingham write the last book in the series after he died, and a couple more before he died. In the first book in the series, Albert Campion appears as a supporting character.

The Albert Campion Series Books List

Book NamePublication YearCheck at Amazon
The Crime at Black Dudley-1929Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mystery Mile-1930Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Look to the Lady-1931Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Police at the Funeral-1931Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sweet Danger-1933Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death of a Ghost-1934Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Flowers for the Judge-1936Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Case of the Late Pig-1937Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dancers in Mourning-1937Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Fashion in Shrouds-1938Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Traitor’s Purse-1941Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Coroner’s Pidgin-1945Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
More Work for the Undertaker-1948Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Tiger in the Smoke-1952Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Beckoning Lady-1955Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hide My Eyes-1958Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The China Governess-1962Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mind Readers-1965Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cargo of Eagles-1968Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mr. Campion’s Farthing-1969Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mr. Campion’s Quarry-1971Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mr. Campion’s Fox-2015Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

More About The Albert Campion Series

In the book, he goes on an adventurous journey, battling a ring of criminal activities. Due to the overwhelming positive response given to the character by readers and critics, author Allingham decided to continue presenting 18 more books as part of the series.

He also portrayed the popular character in more than 20 stories during the series. The name Albert Campion is actually a pseudonym used by the character in the series.

In fact, he was born into one of England’s leading aristocratic families in 1900. Earlier novels in the series indicate that Albert Campion belonged to the British royal family, but author Allingham abandoned the idea in later books. Albert received his education from Rugby School and St. Ignatius College, Cambridge.

During his early 20s, Albert Campion was very resourceful, well-mannered, and simple. He took the name Campion and began life as a detective and adventurer. The physical description of Albert Campion Series described by Alterheim is similar to that of a thin, blond man. He always wears a horny rimmed glass. Albert’s face often has a confused, involuntary and soft expression.

Despite all the difficulties he faces in solving the mysteries that surround him, Albert Campion considers himself a laid-back and helpful man. He always helps his friends and those in need. In some books, he is depicted living in a flat on top of a police station at 17A, Bottle Street, Piccadilly, London. In the early novels, author Allingam described Campion as a pet jackdaw named Autolyssus.

Throughout the crime fiction series, Albert Campion is assisted by his servant named Magersfontein Luge. He is described as an innocent and tough fellow who was once a thief. Albert Campion is considered a very good friend of Scotland Yard’s Inspector Stanislas Oates.

He also likes to work unconventionally, like Albert Campion.

During the war, Albert is depicted involved in some intelligence work. Later, he is shown to have connections to the secret services. Many of the books in the series were adapted into much popular television series, particularly from 1959 to 1990 by the BBC. Actors playing the role of Albert Campion include Bernard Horsfall, Brian Smith, and Peter Davison.

Top FAQ on “The Albert Campion Series”

  1. Who are the actors in Albert Campion?

    Each of the eight stories featured across the two series, broadcast in 1989 and 1990 respectively, are adapted from the Albert Campion mystery novels written by Margery Allingham. The series starred Peter Davison as Albert Campion, Brian Glover as his manservant Magersfontein Lugg and Andrew Burt as his policeman friend Stanislaus Oates.

  2. How many books are there in the Albert Campion series?

    Albert Campion series is comprised of 21 books in total which were published between 1929 and 1971. Author Allingham has introduced the central character in this series in the form of a suave sleuth named Albert Campion.

  3. Name the first book of the Albert Campion series?

    The very first book in the Albert Campion series is “The Crime at Black Dudley“.

Most read authors

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...