The Originals Books in Order By Julie Plec

The Originals Books in Order by Julie Plec

The Originals books in order by Julie Plec is a set of some excellent fiction books. These books are a great addition to books that are based on immortals. The sets of three books are an excellent read and engage the reader effortlessly.

About the Original Books Author – Julie Plec

Julie Plec is an American producer, director, and author of The Originals novel series that is based on the popular TV series with the same name series.

She has even worked with the crew of the famous CW TV series, the Vampire Diaries, and claimed that the originals novels are the spin-off of this famous series. She even wrote 11 episodes for the Originals TV series.

Publication Order of The Originals Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The Rise(2015)Buy Now
The Loss(2015)Buy Now
The Resurrection(2015)Buy Now

The Originals books in order consist of three novels; The Rise, The Loss, and The Resurrection. These books showcase the origin of the first-ever vampire family and how the family is important in every choice we make.

The Backstory of The Originals

Thousands of years ago, a first-ever Witch was living with her family. Devasted after losing one of the children, she is willing to take any step to save her children. Known for her mystic powers, she casts the spell that changes the life of her children upside down. 

Ester, who was one of the most powerful witches of all time, is known for their different choices. Ester was a lover to Ansel, wife of Mikael, and mother to Freya, Finn, Elijah, Niklaus, Kol, Rebekah, and Henrik. 

To save her children from any cruelty, she casts a spell on them – she made them immortal. With an oath to remain together forever as a family, they will face difficult situations to obey this oath even as immortals.

Mikael always has superior powers over his children, even as humans become one of the most powerful vampires in history. He particularly does not like Niklaus as he is a stepson from Ansel, a werewolf. Because of his despicable character, he was difficult to love even by his children.

Niklaus (Klaus) is the main character of the book. As he was born to Ester and Ansel, making him a werewolf by birth. But due to a spell cast by Ester, this property of Klaus is seized and made a first-ever Hybrid Original. The book describes his struggle and constant hunger to control both of his power – vampire, and werewolf.

Elijah is the second character of the book. He is a third born to Mikael and Ester. He is the product of a strong upbringing and has retained humanity, decency, and honor. The love Elijah has for his family is unmatchable. He is the only reason to keep the family together with humanity.

Rebekah is the third character of the book. She is the youngest in the family and particularly closer to Klaus. Also, she has an undying desire to have normal human life. Klaus has a tremendous influence on her, and both are rash and short-tempered in behavior.

With this short backstory about the characters, we will give you a glimpse of three novels from the Originals books in order.

The Rise

This book is the first installment from the famous series by Julie Plec, The Originals. Klaus, Rebekah, and Elijah left their home to escape from their troubled past and found the refugee in New Orleans. They find the city to be lawless and is ruled by witches and werewolves. The siblings are eager to take control of all things. 

Klaus is attracted to Vivianne, a mysterious and beautiful witch. Her marriage is the only way to end the tussle between two supernatural powers. But Klaus’s desire to get Vivianne makes things uneasy. 

Meanwhile, Rebekah, to provide her family a permanent shelter, enters a human cap and fights her unexpected pull towards the French captain. Elijah is the only one who is searching for a small place where his family can live peacefully. But things will get difficult between them due to Klaus’s volatile desires.

The Loss

This book is the second installment in the famous The Originals books in order by Julie Plec. This book continues to tell us the continuous desire for power of the original vampire siblings.

After winning over the hurricane that destroyed New Orleans, Klaus, Rebekah, and Elijah rebuild the city and take it to new glory. But Klaus is not satisfied. He wants more power. To fulfill his never-ending desires, he takes help from a witch who knows the spell that will make Klaus super powerful.

But this witch has other plans and secretly uses Klaus to bring her ancestor back. Now vampire siblings have to fight to retain their power over New Orleans against this army of ancestors that may result in a gruesome bloodbath.

The Resurrection

The last installment of the Originals novel series, The Resurrection, tells us how the original vampire siblings come together as a family despite all differences.

Once again, Klaus, Rebekah, and Elijah have to face the battle with werewolves to retain their power in New Orleans. Klaus is determined to create an army of vampires to finish the werewolves once and for all. This time Elijah is letting his brother choose his way as he is concentrating more on a beautiful and mysterious woman.

Fed up with her brothers’ desire to win the battles without caring for the bloodbath, Rebekah decides to find her original roots and key to her immortality. Despite the rift between them, three siblings will unite together to battle as one unit.

Conclusion – The Originals Books Series

Adapted from the famous CW TV series, The Originals books in order consist of three wonderful fictional novels that fall under the paranormal romance genre. Julie Plec has beautifully written the characters and created the same magic we will experience while watching the Originals TV series.

Top faq on the originals book series

  1. Who is Julie Plec?

    Julie Plec is an American television producer, writer, and director, known for her work on The CW television series The Vampire Diaries which she co-created with Kevin Williamson, and its spin-offs The Originals and Legacies. She also developed the limited series Containment

  2. What is the birth date of Julie Plec?

    Julie Plec was born on 14 March 1965.

Read more from the books in order

Have you read the originals book series? Did you like it? Leave your thoughts and comments below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...