The Wheel of Time Books in Order by Robert Jordan

The Wheel of Time Books In Order

The Wheel of Time Books in Order by Robert Jordan – Reading a fantasy-based novel will take you on the journey of the world with unreal things. Those who love to read novels in this genre will agree with me about the emotions they experienced while reading a novel. The Wheel of Time books in order will give exact feeling by its high-level fantasy plot. It consists of 14 volumes and is written by a well-known novel Robert Jordon.

About Robert Jordan – The Author of Wheel of Time

Robert Jordon was an American author who has got fame in writing epic fantasy stories. The Wheel of Time novel series is his most notable work. He was among the writers who contributed to the original Conan the Barbarian novels. With the pseudonym Reagan O’Neal, he also wrote some historical fiction. Robert’s original name was James Oliver Rigney Jr.

Robert began writing the first novel of the Wheel of Time series in 1984 and wrote 11 out of 14 books alone. Later due to his illness, he wrote the last volume of the novel series with another famous fantasy writer, Brandon Sanderson. It was decided during the writing process to divide this last volume into three novels for ease of reading.

Robert was diagnosed with cardiac amyloidosis in 2006. Even after taking the required treatment for a year, he succumbed to death in 2007.

The Wheel of Time Books in Order

Let’s have a look at the books under the wheel of time series.

Publication Order of The Wheel of Time Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The Eye of the World(1990)Buy Now
The Great Hunt(1990)Buy Now
The Dragon Reborn(1991)Buy Now
The Shadow Rising(1992)Buy Now
The Fires of Heaven(1993)Buy Now
Lord of Chaos(1994)Buy Now
A Crown of Swords(1996)Buy Now
The Path of Daggers(1998)Buy Now
Winter’s Heart(2000)Buy Now
Crossroads of Twilight(2003)Buy Now
New Spring(2004)Buy Now
Knife of Dreams(2005)Buy Now
The Gathering Storm(2009)Buy Now
Towers of Midnight(2010)Buy Now
A Memory of Light(2012)Buy Now
New Spring is a prequel to the Wheel of Time series.

Publication Order of The Wheel of Time – Graphic Novels Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The Eye of the World, Volume 1(2011)Buy Now
The Eye of the World, Volume 2(2012)Buy Now
The Eye of the World, Volume 3(2013)Buy Now
The Eye of the World, Volume 4(2013)Buy Now
The Eye of the World, Volume 5(2014)Buy Now
The Eye of the World, Volume 6(2015)Buy Now

Publication Order of Wheel of Time Companion Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time(1997)Buy Now
The Wheel of Time Companion(2015)Buy Now

Publication Order of Fallon Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
The Fallon Blood(1980)Buy Now
The Fallon Pride(1981)Buy Now
The Fallon Legacy(1982)Buy Now

Publication Order of Robert Jordan’s Conan Novels Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
Conan the Invincible(1982)Buy Now
Conan The Defender(1982)Buy Now
Conan the Triumphant(1983)Buy Now
Conan the Unconquered(1983)Buy Now
Conan the Victorious(1984)Buy Now
Conan the Magnificent(1984)Buy Now
Conan the Destroyer(1984)Buy Now
The Conan Chronicles(1995)Buy Now

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
Cheyenne Raiders(1982)Buy Now
Warrior of the Altaii(2019)Buy Now

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Book TitleYearBuy at Amazon
Alvah(2020)Buy Now

The Wheel of Time Books Summary

The Wheel of Time novel series consists of 14 high-level fantasy dramas created by Robert Jordon along with Brandon Sanderson. It was originally planned to have only 6 novels in the series but later turned out to be 11 book novel series. It also has a prequel and two companion books.

As mentioned before, Robert had written 11 books and drafted documentation of the last three novels. These novels were later completed by Brandon Sanderson after Robert’s death in 2007. The background and plot of the Wheel of Time books in order is inspired by the cyclical nature of time mentioned in Hinduism and Buddhism and the concept of creator (light) and the devil (dark) found in Islam.

The novel series is one of the lengthiest novel series, and 8 out of 11 books are listed as New York Times Bestsellers. It was also nominated for the Hugo award, and till 2021 over 90 million copies have been sold worldwide. In 2021 it was also aired as a TV adaptation by Sony Pictures and Amazon Studios. 

We will be mentioning short summaries of some books among the series further in this article.

The Eye Of The World

The first book of the Wheel of Time novel series, the Eye of the World, was listed as New York Times bestseller. The book showcases that what has happened might become legend or myth and might get lost, but the wheel of time brings everything back.

Moiraine Damodred started his journey with the quest for a prophecy against the evil power. This evil power is slowly invading with chaos and destruction. Moiraine urges Rand al’Thor and his friends to vacant their home as a vivacious band of half-men, and half-beast is destroying the village to seek their master. Together they enter the world full of shadows and light.

The Great Hunt

This is the second book of the famous novel series, the Wheel of Time books in order. The legend has resurfaced and must be saved from the dark powers.

The legend – the horn of Valere, known as the great hunt of the horn is said to bring back the dead heroes of the ages. But it is stolen. Rand al’Thor is searching for the thieves and is determined to keep the horn away from the dark power.

He soon realized that he was the dragon reborn and champion of light and was meant to stand against the dark power and shadows. He unleashes the power and capacities he never imagined he possesses to fight against evil.

The Gathering Strom

This is the 12th book from the novel series the Wheel of Time and is co-authored by the famous Brandon Sanderson. 

Rand al’Thor, a dragon reborn, wants to unite a fractured network of the kingdom before the last battle begins. As the Rand proceeds ahead, Seanchen starts to invade from the north. He secretly wished to form a temporary truce with the invaders. His allies and followers are worried and scared as dark shadow starts to take over the dragon reborn.

On the other hand, Egwene al’Vere, a rebel of Aes Sedai, is held in prison by their leader. As Seanchen begins to invade, Egwene knows that she must display leadership in between the uncertainty and despair.

Apart from the above-mentioned books, there are 11 books in the series. Robert has also written a prequel to this novel series named New Spring.

Conclusion – The Wheel of Time Series

The Wheel of Time books in order by famous epic fantasy author Robert Jordon can easily make to reader’s bookshelves. All the eleven books stick to the plot and never miss the thriller and fantasy. We would recommend this novel in must-read novel series of all the time.

Read more from the books in order

Have you read The Wheel of Time Books? Leave your comments and thoughts below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...